cravings and 22

20 March 2010 at 9:15 pm Leave a comment

I turned 22 yesterday and I feel like I’m finally settling into my twenties. 😉

The past three days have been a whirlwind of BEAUTIFUL (yet unseasonably) warm spring weather. It was a great way to bring in my new age and the new season. I. am. totally. ready. for. spring!

For my “real” birthday dinner last night, my mother and I headed out to Jimmy Buffet’s Margaritaville. Holy yum! I ordered the Chicken Fajita and a Strawberry Daiquiri. I was a tad disappointed with the fajita, because it didn’t come with: 1. tomato or 2. lettuce! It was still quote delicious, though. 🙂

Check out the poodle a man on stilts made for me:

Cute, right?

I set out today to photograph everything I ate. First, I must say that it was a day of total cravings. I didn’t know what was up with me, but nothing before dinner today seemed like “normal” foodage for me. But I figured, what the hell, it’s my birthday weekend, right? Second, I was not in my own house. I was at my mother’s, therefore the food selection was not my typical. Here’s how it went down.

I woke up with morning not sure of what to eat. I went on a nice 1.5 mile walk and then examined the food selection at my mother’s.

My mother’s cabinet and fridge are usually, uh, bare and not Laurie-friendly. (Notice the milk, soda, lack of water, butter, and mayonaise.) She tries, though. She really does. She bought wheat bread just for me, but the loooong and hard-to-pronounce ingredient list always weirds me out.

Of course, this didn’t stop me from making toast for breakfast. I couldn’t decide what I wanted as a topping either. So…

Yes, there’s ketchup on the piece in the background. And jelly on the closer one. When my mother asked me what I ended up making for breakfast, and I told her this combo, I realized how disgusting it sounded. I have strange cravings sometimes! 🙂

A little bit of stretching and trashy tv later…

I munched on a small bowl of Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds cereal.

My mom hit the stores this afternoon and I was finally able to use my sunroof on my (kinda) new car that I just purchased in November. I haven’t been able to experience it yet! When I returned home, I shared a can of beets, yes beets, with my mom.

I eat them cold with red wine vinegar.

Then, another craving: carrot cake! I knew we were going to pick up a cake to bring to my Nanny and Papa’s house to “celebrate” my birthday with them quickly, but I totally do not like the boring cakes that many grocery stores carry. But carrot cake sounded wonderful!

Half-eaten…and heavenly. I haven’t had this in so long!

The afternoon was filled with cookie baking for a bake sale fundraising my organization is holding on Monday for a local historical institution. So many cookies!

Tonight, I celebrated my birthday for the last time. Phew! It’s hard work turning a year older. 😉 I went to Olive Garden with my dad and his girlfriend, Tracy.

Let me just say this about Olive Garden: For me, the endless breadsticks are dangerous! It’s taken me a long time to exhibit control around them. 😉 The salad usually disappoints me with gobs of dressing. And then by the time my meal comes, I realize that I totally shouldn’t have ordered that dish with a whole mess of pasta.

I fixed those problems tonight! I had one breadstick. I dug into the salad bowl to find the lettuce not gobbed with dressing (which I do love…just not in ginormous proportions!). And, I ordered a dish that had no pasta with it. Instead, it had grilled zucchini and squash!

I made sure I didn’t eat a ton of breadsticks by constantly taking swigs of my beverage. It filled me right up so I wasn’t tempted to go for another one! And the main dish was herb-grilled salmon. The “italian seasonings” on top of the salmon, which were a green hue, were to die for. For real! It was just so tasty! 🙂

It was a day of odd cravings that ended with a nice, pretty-balance-for-a-dinner-out dinner! Ever have an odd day of cravings? If it happens every once in a while, especially on my birthday weekend, I indulge.

Fitness Wrap Up:

Sunday: treadmill, 45 minutes, walk/jog 3.7-5.0 mph, 4.5-7.0 incline ~3 miles

Monday: off

Tuesday: treadmill, 45 minutes, walk/jog 3.7-5.0 mph, 4.5-7.0 incline ~3 miles; ~60 minutes campus walking

Wednesday: treadmill, 45 minutes, walk/jog 3.7-5.0 mph, 4.5-7.0 incline ~3 miles; elliptical, 20 minutes, level 10; 30 minutes campus walking

Thursday: ~60 minutes campus walking

Friday: birthday!

Saturday: short 1.5 mile walk

Now I’m relaxing and watching Cake Boss. I love Buddy! If I ever get married, I totally want him to make my cake. 🙂

Entry filed under: 1.

papaya and pasta my first green monster!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb    
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Most Recent Posts


